Local 108 Named 2016 Charles W. Jones Award Recipient

Kansas City, KS (October 5, 2016) — MOST, the non-profit tripartite safety and training arm of the International Brotherhood of Boilermakers (IBB), recently announced Local Lodge 108 (Birmingham, Ala.) received this year’s Charles W. Jones Award. International President Newton B. Jones formally presented the award during the 2016 National Tripartite Alliance Conference held October 3-5, 2016, in Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Tim Simmons, business manager/secretary-treasurer for Local Lodge 108, accepted the award on behalf of the lodge. “I am very proud of what Local 108 has accomplished and I credit everything to our members. It is because of their dedication, craftsmanship and desire to excel in training that we have achieved this recognition.”

Chartered in 1984, Local 108 represents approximately 510 members covering the southern 56 counties of Alabama and the 10 panhandle counties of Florida. Local 108 is also a member of the Southeast District Lodge 3.

The Charles W. Jones Award honors the local lodge demonstrating the leading use of specified MOST programs during the preceding year. According to MOST Administrator Dale “Skipper” Branscum, the award “encourages participation in the MOST programs, actively educating Boilermaker members to continue achieving the highest levels of safety, leadership and training in the industry.”

Award recipients have the highest percentage of members participating in seven of the 17 MOST programs: OSHA 10/30 Program, Common Arc Program, Substance Abuse Program, Scaffolding Program, Steel Erection Program, Rigging Program and Leadership Program.

The award is named after the late Boilermakers’ International President Emeritus, Charles W. Jones, who led the effort to establish the national MOST labor-management trust fund in 1989. In addition to the recognition, the winning local receives a cast silicon bronze statue depicting a 1930s-era Boilermaker holding a rivet gun.

Local 108 is the sixth Boilermaker lodge to receive the award and recognition. Other recipients have included Local 154 (Pittsburgh, Pa.), 2011; Local 85 (Toledo, Ohio), 2012; Local 433 (Tampa, Fla.), 2013; Local 11 (Helena, Mont.), 2014 and Local 29 (Quincy, Mass.), 2015.